Our current elders are:

Tilda Balsley – Grounds

Tom Callicutt – Montreat House

Ed Conroy – Clerk

Billy Coleman – Mission

Emma Crabtree – Communication

Scott Greene – Personnel

Jane Harrill – Caregivers

Rick McKinney – Buildings

Jim Murray – Christian Education

Phil Neal – Fellowship

Becky Norman – Worship

Thomas Thompson – Finance

What are elders?

First Presbyterian Church Reidsville is governed by members of the congregation called elders who are elected to serve the church in order that it may be the body of Christ. We elect elders in accordance to the Presbyterian Church (USA)’s constitution, which states:

As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people. Accordingly, congregations should elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline,  and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships. When elected by the congregation, they shall serve faithfully as members of the session. When elected as commissioners to higher councils, ruling elders participate and vote with the same authority as ministers of the Word and Sacrament, and they are eligible for any office. (Book of Order G-2.03)